Old people requires a lot of care and it becomes important to have someone always to attend to them such as nurses for the elderly. In countries like Britain few elderly people prefer living in a home for the elderly which is funded by the government. while some might believe that paying for such care is the responsiblity of the family, In my opinion the government should pay for the care of their elderly population.The arugument is supported by stating some of the reason why I believe so.

First and foremost, there are variations in each family's financial situation. Some family might be able to take care of their parents or guardians while some might not be in a financial situation to do so, for instance if someone does not have a job or might have lost their job and if there is a need for an urgent hospitalisation it can be a huge expense and not being in a financial situation to help will put the parents in a greater risk, meanwhile if the government will pay for their care such risks could be avoided as the government will have funds to help them.

Example: A lot of old people will have paid their taxes and other medical insurances when they were young and government in countries like the United states of America and Canada use these taxes to pay for the care of their elderly population.

In conclusion, family and the government should take care of the elderly citizen but since government can be more reliable and are financially capable, they should pay for such care instead of the families.