In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with

other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes

the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

We should believe in the circle of life which implies that parents take care of kids when they are young and in return the children take care of parents when they become older. In my opinion, the family should be responsible for taking care of the aged members instead of the government.

A family is what everyone looks upon when in dire need and not the government. We should not refrain from our roles and responsibilities as a family just because they have gotten old and we are out of time. It is our duty to pay for their well-being so that they receive the best amenities and care from the nurses. It shows that we still consider them as family and would like to invest our time in them and learn and know the nitty-gritties of it. For instance, we know what our family members needs are and sometimes the nurses in the care home might fail to acknowledge that or it might miss their mind. This could cause a turmoil in the aged member's health. It would be better for the family to be keenly interested into what goes on in their family member's care.

Apart from taking of their financial and health requirements, this situation also helps the family stay in touch with their peers. A scenario like this is quite beneficial for the family in terms of mental and emotional intimacy. It would create a bond of trust and empathy between them and help the peers get through this complex situation easily.

To summarize, taking care of your peers when they become old helps us keep the family values intact and strong and it instills a sense of responsibility among the younger generation of the family instead of disregard.