Can brain damage from drugs be reversed?

There is a controversial issue about the side effects of taking drugs on humans. Some pharmaceutical companies claim that drugs are harmless to the brain, while some doctors state that they irreversibly destroy it. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view and agree with the idea of harmful impact.

Let us start with the reasons why some pharmaceutical companies argue that drugs hardly damage brain. The first reason is that all harmful repercussions are revealed on initial stages of medicine development. Drug developers spend years investigating the influence of new drugs on living creatures before sending to mass production, so that they make sure that these medications trigger no unpleasant reactions in the body. Another reason is that there are many other drugs designed to recover any damage. Many people take a course of drugs intended to generate brain cells as a therapy. As a result, they avoid any detrimental effects, which drugs may induce.

However, some doctors believe that drugs are responsible for many brain disorders. They justify their point of view with the following arguments. Firstly, many drugs create an environment for more serious brain infections. Many patients develop illnesses, which impede brain processes, two or three years after they complete taking certain medicines. This link between them is difficult to establish due to a large time span. Secondly, many sufferers use drugs without prescriptions. As a great deal of people try to treat themselves at home, they usually take enormous doses, which aggravate the situation. Therefore, they not only harm their immune system, but also irreparably slow their mental capacities.

In conclusion, even though some pharmaceutical manufactures say that any pharmacy they produce is not dangerous to human brain, I think that drugs damage it, but it is rarely possible to prove.