Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'.How true do you think this statement is?What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

With the increasing population and needs of people, car ownership is increasing at a rapid pace. Due to increase in number of cars on road, huge traffic jams are there which is creating traffic disturbance. Earlier are number of cars were increasing but at a marginal rate, but now increase has been drastic in last thirty years.

Car population is directly linked to increasing population and need of people but it has also become more of a status symbol nowadays. Despite of the requirement, people tend to spend heavy amount just to show their status to the society. Number of cars in a family in approximately equal to number of major members in a family. It is very well known that people feel safe in cars than any other mode of travelling. Cars given sense of ownership, while travelling to office by car, one can leave from home any time as per convenience. Despite of the advantages, major cities of world has become a big traffic jam. In India, it takes approx 10 minutes to cross a light in Delhi. This car population is increasing in such a manner that it is becoming tough for even traffic police to control.

Various measures are being taken by government of every country to curb this problem. In Singapore, there are various rules to buying a car as there is huge tax levied on purchase of cars. Even number of cars is also limited to each family. Government issues approval to buy car only to those people, for which it thinks that actual need is there after proper evaluation. This method is really working in Singapore and there is less traffic jam as compared to another cities. Various steps like this can be taken by other countries and various amendments should be done as physiology of people of different cities is different. Importance should be given to public transportation, it should be cheap and clean so people can shift from cars to public transport.

To reciprocate, car population is a increasing problem and it is causing lots of pollution as well. It should be controlled as early as possible. Government alone would not be able to do it, general public should understand its implications and should support the cause. Various awareness programs should be launched to make people understand the implications of car population.