Causes of unemployment nowadays

Unemployment is a big problem for individuals, communities and society. A question is raised what causes this problem. In my opinion, overpopulation, lack of appropriate qualifications and global pandemics have been responsible for joblessness.

In the first place, increased population is one of the main reasons for unemployment. Obviously, when overpopulation occurs, the number of applicants are much more than the number of job. Therefore, many people are difficult to find a job. According to the statistics from National Statistics Bureau, in Vietnam in 2018, the population increased which makes the unemployment rate reached up to 25 percent compared to in 2015.

Secondly, the lack of qualification for employers also results in this problem. In fact, many graduates are unemployed due to their lack of not only appropriate qualifications but also necessary skills for their job responsibility such as communication skills and group working skills. For example, a survey conducted by Social Journal published that in 2019 in Vietnam 90 percent of university leavers could not seek for a job because they are deficient in practical skills.

Finally, global pandemics also bring about joblessness. Obviously, the Covid-19 pandemic, which we are facing now, significantly affected employees. During this pandemic most companies had to close to prevent from the spread of the pandemic; as a result, workers had to stay at home instead of going to work and they became unemployed people.

In conclusion, there are some main reasons for unemployment including the increased population, the lack of qualification for applicant and global pandemics. To tackle this problem some practical and effective solutions should be taken as soon as possible.