Central and local governments make a frantic attempt to promote festivals to create a lot of revenue. Some people think this money should be invested in social programmes for the poor. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Many people think that government and individuals are spending too much money on national celebrations. Because it brings many benefits for society and national economics.

Spending money on national celebrations affects positively to society. Firstly people have the time and the place to rest or to play. They have many opportunities relaxing after their busy days at works. If holidays are not organized, people will not time to rest and time for family. Secondly, spending money to organized celebrations help people maintain the national traditions. Nowadays more foreign festivals are imported. The young people attracted by them and forget the traditional festivals.

On the other hand, spend money on national celebrations is a beneficial investment. The festivals will attract many tourists and local residents will receive more revenue from buying souvenirs. Also, this helps restaurants and hotels to earn much money. Moreover, celebrations promote economic development. In days of celebrations, consumption increases dramatically.

To conclude, I believe the actions of investing on national festivals is a wise response of government to people’s expectation.