Children in many countries are getting fat and less fit day by day. Why is it so and what are the possible solutions?

Youngsters these days are getting more prone to obesity and suffer from lower overall fitness levels,a trend common to many nations.This precursor of deteriorating physiques is attributable to lifestyle and dietary choices .The situation although alarming can be tackled by way of making teenagers aware of benefits of taking nutritional foods on their general well being .

It is a visual when children thronging to fast food outlets to grab their favourite hamburger or French fries.These are often loaded with unhealthy preservatives doing more harm than good to belly fat. It is this intake of junk food that is causing fat to deposit in their adipose tissueand making them gain weight.Another reason is sedentary routines of today's youth characterized by low physical activity and reliance on indoor games . This further inhibits movement making them gain weight .

The menace can be curtailed by actively engaging teenagers in some form task requiring bodily motion and grading them on the basis of health quotient apart from academic parameters.Moreover,sports should be made compulsary subject in curriculum with extra weightage given to students who are leaner .The dependence of teenagers on quick unhealthy diets can be reduced by educating them about their enhanced susceptibility to possible infections and diseases in the long term.

The potential unforseen dangers of poor fitness levels and accumulation of fat is undoubtedly a cause of concern for nations at the macro level as it is the youth that will make country progressive .However,with inculcation of prompt and proactive dietary patterns and making relevant changes in day to day activities focused on physical training the situation can be curtailed