Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well-educated today.

In the current world, visual media has a huge presence across the globe. Television is being widely used as a supplement for education by students. In my opinion, books can never be replaced by television as a means of learning gadget. This can be proven by analysing how books have the advantage that they can focus on a particular subject deeply as well as provide time flexibility.

It is apparent that a particular book focuses on a specific subject. As most of the programs in the television are sponsored by an organisation, advertisement runs at regular intervals between the programs the people watch. In the case of books, advertisements are very rare and thus there are limited distractions on learning a subject. Moreover, we can turn back the pages we have covered, if any doubt arises reading the further topics. As per the report released on 25th September 2015, by the Week magazine, 90% of the school students prefer books over the television for educational purposes. Thus books have an edge over television. Television programmes are aimed to entertain people when there are very few educative channels for students. Moreover, there is no surety that a student would spend his time in front of the TV productively.

Another important advantage books have is the ability of the readers to choose the time to read as per their convenience. It is a fact that some students like to read in the early morning while some others in the evening, so that they have maximum concentration. But in case of television, unless we have digital storage devices like DVD or USB drive; it is not possible to play as we need. Furthermore, most of the television programmes have a schedule and the students need to be punctual in case they need to attend it. It is obvious that book gives the users to plan their time as per their wish.

As a conclusion, it is obvious that books have an advantage over television, as it provides deeper concentration on the subjects and better time management. It is predicted that a few subjects, which requires visual effect to understand, may choose television as a mean of the learning tool.