Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television However television cannot replace the book as a learning tool which is why children are less well educated today To what extent do you agree with this statement

The main reason of poor education quality among children nowadays is that they spend a lot of their time watching television programmes and do things that are remotely connected to quality education. I completely agree with the statement that television cannot replace the book as a learning tool as it is far less educative and far more addictive.

Firstly, television cannot replace books as learning materials owing to the fact that children often misuse television in the disappearance of parents. For instance, educative programs are less attractive than the cartoon shows and other programs children prefer to watch. While there are lots of educative and suitable programs, it is not unusual that a child would prefer to watch programs that entertain more than educating.

Another reason television is not as suitable as a book because when children learn through television then their focus will be on audio-visual presentation, not in learning. Whereas if they follow books then they focus on books and the lessons it offers.

It is often heard that many children watch TV for long hours and that is detrimental to their health. Television programs are addictive and many children do not concentrate on other important things like study or outdoor activity when they become addicted to watching TV programs.

Finally, television cannot replace the book as learning tool due to television might be a tool that would be wastage of time. However, if children spend more time in reading books there is no chance of wastage of time. The primary focus of television is entertaining people while books are considered as the cornerstone of knowledge and wisdom.

To conclusion, although television is more entertaining than books, it cannot become a great tool for education as books are for children. The book is still the most appropriate learning tool and the television can never replace it terms of child’s education.