The claim that animals have rights has been subjected as a matter of debate since the 1970’s. Are zoos helping or hurting our animals? Should zoos be banned?

Since 1970, there is an ongoing debate between many people that animals have rights. While it is possible to claim that zoos should be banned because we are hurting them by caging it, my view is that zoos are nurturing and helping animals.In this essay I shall explain my point of view by analysing both sides of the argument.

To begin with, there are several reasons why wildlife sanctuaries should not be closed.One of them is that it helps to preserve the wildlife which are on the verge of extinction.It can also be argued that some animals which are abandoned by its mother needs additional attention and care to nurture them . For example, According to a survey conducted by "The Hindu" magazine, it is found that the population of Bengal Tigers in the Ghir National Park has increased by 2%. Moreover, it helped to save the endangered species.

Those who argue for the closure of zoos have a different view and say that it can actually be a good thing Firstly, It is claimed that animals have a wild characteristics and it is not safe to grow them in zoos. In addition, it is also said that they are predators so it should be kept far away and untouched by humans.Then there are concerns about its wild behaviour. To exemplify, In China, a man accidentally fell into the cage of white tigers. He was devoured by those animals and lost his life.

To conclude, though there are strong arguments on both sides of the case, my opinion is that wildlife sanctuaries helps animals than hurting it. I would strongly recommend to have more zoos.