Companies should provide sports and social facilities for local communities. To what extent do you agree?

There is a lot of debate about who should pay for recreational facilities in communities. Although some people believe the business sector should provide these facilities, it is my opinion that this is the role of government.

Some people think that companies should do more to support local communities. By providing sports and social facilities, it is argued that companies can directly benefit communities. Sports facilities will mean the local people are healthier and social facilities will provide meeting places and cultural attractions which will enrich people’s lives. However, it is likely that companies will see this as a way to advertise and may build facilities simply to improve the image of their brand.

Personally, I believe that the government should be responsible for providing recreational facilities. If they are provided by the government, facilities can be advertising free, aimed solely at improving life in the community. Taxes on businesses could be used to fund these facilities, but the building and maintenance should be carried out by the government. All local businesses could be taxed, which would be more effective than just a few companies providing facilities. This solution provides facilities that will improve the community and are paid for by the business sector.

In conclusion, it is important that public facilities remain advertising free and so I believe it is better for the government to provide recreational facilities which could be funded by taxes on businesses. Before the government decides what to build in each area, local communities must be consulted to see what they really need and want.