Compare the celebration of New Year in Vietnam to that in the United States

New Year Day is an important time for everyone regardless of their nationalities. All over the world, everybody is always eager and waits for this time in a year. However, the celebrations of New Year in each country are not nearly parallel because different cultures observe their traditional or religious New Year Day according to their own customs. In this essay, we will examine some similarities and differences between New Year’s celebration in The United States and Tet holiday in Vietnam.

In the first place, they share some similarities. Both of them have some days off. When celebrating New Year, in both of these countries all businesses, schools and offices are closed and every family always gathers to take part in parties together. In addition, at New Year time, Vietnamese spend time visiting their relatives and their friends just as Americans do. Moreover, this is the moments for not only Vietnamese but also Americans to do their meaningful things such as forgiving, repairing broken relationships and thinking about the future

Despite some similarities, there are several differences in the celebrations of New Year in these countries. The first difference is the time. Americans celebrate New Year on the first day of the civil year, meanwhile Vietnamese’ Tet holiday starts on the first day of lunar year which is a month later than Americans’ celebration of New Year. Besides, the celebrations of New Year in The United States always last for about three days while Tet holiday in Vietnam usually lasts until for up to a week from 29th December to 5th January according to Lunar Calendar.

The most notable difference is the tradition. Each country has its own tradition on New Year’s Day. In this occasion, Vietnamese always go to pagodas to pray a happy, successful and lucky year but Americans always go to churches to pray. The special thing is that most Americans make New Year’s resolutions. These are usually their promises to themselves that they will improve something in their own lives. For example, they will lose weight, or stop smoking or drinking alcohol, live a healthier lifestyle even learn English. Meanwhile, in Vietnam adults always give lucky money to children which is a small amount of money put in a tiny red envelope as a wish of luck and health for children

In conclusion, the celebrations of New Year in The United States and in Vietnam has some similarities such as having some days off, visiting relatives and friends and doing meaningful things. Besides, there are some obvious differences between these two cultures including the time, the preparation and the tradition. From my perspective, both two countries have interesting and unique features in the way they welcome New Year.