It is thought by some people that it is important to complete university education in order to get a good job, whereas some people think that it is essential to gain experience and develop soft skills. In my opinion, academic qualification is crucial to secure a decent job.

One the one hand, all the top most companies has a certain eligibility criteria for recruitment according to qualification. In other words, one with the highest degree has a edge over other candidates and probability to get selected is higher as compared to others. In India, for instance, maximum companies require a university degree and it is pre-specified at their career page. Those without university degree are removed for the job drive in preliminary screening itself. Furthermore, university education helps an individual to master a major subject which helps an individual to perform the job in effective manner.

On the other hand, experience and soft skills increase weightage of the resume. An experienced person can take decisions more effectively in comparison to freshers. Along with this, he can also use his people skills which he have developed over a period of time to manage people. Soft skills like empathy, patience helps an individual to interact harmoniously with other people and maintain cordial relation with colleagues. Another reason, is that they have practical knowledge which enables a company to make timely strategies which contributes to the organizational goal.

In conclusion, the basic parameter to get a good job is university education nowadays, as companies shortlist candidates according to education and experience and soft skills are considered at a later stage.