As computers are being used more and more in education, there will be soon no role for teachers in the classroom.

Do you agree or disagree ?

Computers are reducing or replacing manual activities but education might be an exception as the role of teachers cannot be replaced.

Teachers teach the class in a way that can be understood by all the students and if a topic is not clear, the doubt can be explained in a different way so that it is very clear for the student in an interactive mode. Younger children or pre-school kids are taught alphabets, colours and shapes with look and feel so that they are easily understood and they can remember them. For Instance, my younger daughter goes to pre-school where they teach alphabets with toys meaning if they have to teach letter ‘G’, they a toy similar to goat which really represent goat by look and feel. By which it can be easily understood by the tender ones.

On the contrary, if the subjects are recorded and students has to learn from it, it would burden them as they might have a lot of doubts and which can’t be answered then and there and hence the learners feel bored and lose interest in their studies. For example, a survey conducted by Hindu newspaper for 100 students of same age group who learned online and the one’s who were taught by teacher in a classroom, the latter had given better results in their exams.

In conclusion, Though the technology is bringing a lot of changes, it can’t replace a teacher but it can become a tool which would help the teacher in digitally explaining the students.