In today’s tech savy world, there is almost no field where computers are not used. Children being taught concepts in a new and informative way through computers, yet it has some side-effects. These downfalls cannot impact the positive impact that computers have on education.

Firstly, access to millions of books, applications to take maintain notebooks and the web to search for information, is all provided within a small computer. This increases the effectiveness of the students and saves time. Secondly, with the use of wide-screen projectors, students are subjected to a new way of audio-visual learning. Concepts involving 3D shapes can easily be explained to students with clear understanding. Thirdly, a passion towards technology is developed amongst the students, which can lead to research and innovation in the future.

There are some problems associated with extensive use of computers. Firstly, the student teacher relationship will decline as students would prefer to look up answers on the internet rather than ask their fellow teachers. Secondly and most importantly, being glued to a screen raises some health issues. Itchiness and dryness of the eyes, neck and back aches are the most common problems that affect children. Thirdly, cost of procuring a new laptop or computer cannot be afforded by every student or school. Maintenance of the same is another headache for some.

Although, we see that use of computer in education has some negative health and socio-economic impact, but it cannot outweigh the positivity it instills in the minds of a student. I conclude by stating that computers should and mus be used in schools.