Nowadays, people tend to spend most of their time on work and due to this, they find pleasure in consuming fast-food as it avoids wastage of time. Fast-food outlets are on the rise in developed nations and provide access to the local people. The trend of dining at fast-food outlets is fashionable and time-saving, yet it has some downfalls.

Firstly, fast-food is unhealthy and is the cause of many heart related diseases and obesity. Doctors ask people to refrain themselves from fast-food, as it is shown to cause harm in the long run. Secondly, the businesses of many healthy, home-cooked meal providers is on the decline due to the increase in the number of fastfood outlets. Fast-food outlets have shown to attract customers with great discounted schemes.

Thirdly, we are losing out on the importance of having a balanced diet. Food eaten should have a proper balance of proteins, carbohydrates, fats and vitamins, which fast-food lacks and has abundance of fats and carbohydrates. Recent studies by the World Health Organization, show that having a balanced diet is crucial to lead a proper lifestyle.

On the contrary, there are some people who support the recent spurt in fast-food outlets. They say it contributes to the country’s economy immensely and provides employment with fixed pay. They also believe that working-class people save around 1 to 2 hours daily by consuming food at these outlets.

All in all, it is true that the advantages of fast-food outlets has made our lives very convenient. But, in my opinion, it has a negative impact on our health, body and lifestyle. Hence, the disadvantages of consuming junk food definitely outweighs the advantages.