The computers are widely used in education and some people think that teachers do not play an important role in the classroom. To what extent do you agree?

It is irrefutable that computers have become an indispensable part of education but I disagree that teachers do not play a significant role in the classroom. I believe that no amount of technology can ever replace the teacher. In the following paragraphs, I intend to support my views with my arguments.

It is an undeniable fact that teachers can never lose their importance. In learning and practice of more complex ideas, the computer is not adequate. It can tell if the answer is right or wrong but it cannot tell where the student went wrong. Tasks involving reasoning cannot be taught using computers. Moreover, teachers add their own knowledge gained through experience to that of books and other resources.

Furthermore, teachers can stimulate interest and it is an undeniable fact that interested stimulated people tend to learn more. They can keep students focused on study. A student studying by himself may get bored and stop studying. Teachers can provide a faster and simpler way to present information to the students. They can come down to the level of a student and so are definitely better than computers. What is more, teachers are role models for students. They are scholars in action. They not only teach academic subjects, but also many social skills.

On the other hand, it is also true that the use of computers in today’s classrooms is also the need of the day. Teachers should use computers to add innovation to their teaching methods. Powerpoint presentations can make even the dull and boring subjects seem interesting. So computers and teachers should not be treated as rivals to each other. They should play a complementary role so that today’s classrooms become very interesting and our children can compete with other children in this global village.

To put it in a nutshell, I can say that, no doubt computers are being used in the classrooms but they can never replace the teacher.