Computers are widely used in education, and some people think teachers will not play an important role in the classroom. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Computers are increasingly becoming an important part of pedagogy. This has, in turn, put the position of teachers under doubt. I agree with the belief that teachers will no longer remain a crucial part of the study process as there are certain subjects, where their role is essential. This essay will validate the aforementioned notion, in the subsequent paragraphs.

To commence with, teaching through computers will weaken the student-teacher rapport. This can be understood by the fact that students may not tend to take their doubts to the respective teachers, which will lessen the communication. In the long run, it is highly likely that the tutors begin to lose their importance. As evidenced in the case of Tokyo, where teaching Mathematics through digital means was brought to effect for primary school students. It was found that teachers hardly had to deal with the queries, thus, making them detached from the students. As a matter of fact, the negative effect of the lack of interaction between the tutor and the pupils on the eventual significance of teachers cannot be ignored.

Secondly, there are certain fields of study, namely, medicine, psychology and psychiatry, where the role of teachers is an absolute imperative. These subjects require inputs from the teachers' side owing to their experience and knowledge which cannot be as such explained by websites. This strengthens the contribution of teachers and his or her expertise. Take the case of University of Minnesota, where computer-aided psychology lessons were begun to be provided to the students. In the long run, most of the students failed to perform well in tackling case studies due to lack of teachers' personal guidance. For these reasons, the prominent part of a teacher in learning a subject is unquestionable.

In essence, the importance of teachers in the classroom with the advent of computer based technology is circumstantial and not definite. It has been deduced that while in most cases, the teacher-student relationship may lose strength, there are certain spheres of education, where teachers have no replacement.