The cost of international travel is decreasing and tourism is increasing in many countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of the rising trend of tourism for countries?

This is a true fact to consider that in the present day world has become a global village and people have chances to travel all over the world due to decreasing the cost of international travel. Considering this, some analysts consider that the rising trend of the tourism needs to be implemented in the potential countries. However, there are some pros and cons associated behind of increasing tourism in the world.

There are some significant advantages of growing trend of tourism. First and foremost, economic prosperity could be a significant advantage to consider. It is generally seen that a few decades ago only developed countries and rich people had the chance to travel worldwide; however, due to the reduction of cost of air travel majority of middle and lower classes nowadays can afford to travel all over the world or within their own countries for different purposes. As a result, many developing countries can emphasise their tourism and can earn from foreign tourists and that could be higher than the past. It can be demonstrated by a recent survey in Sri Lanka that has more than 60% of total income received from tourism. Moreover, mitigating unemployment rates could be another merit of tourism as it offers an excellent opportunity for new jobs potential.

Despite, the advantages discussed above regarding rising tourism there are some negative effects which cannot be neglected without any careful consideration. Endangering culture, tradition could be done from the excessive presence of foreign tourists and that could be a detrimental fact. Environmental damages and mixed cultural influences are hard to tackle when the tourism in a country flourishes.

In the end, undoubtedly, increasing worldwide travels has immense benefits to the society; however, there are numbers of drawbacks that should be handled properly.