Countries around the world will be facing significant challenges relating not only to the environment, but population and education as well.

What problems will your country face in the next ten years?

How can these problems be overcome?

As economies develop and the world's population grows, the countries of the world have to tackle now and complicated issues. Over the next ten years Australia will have to deal with three critical problems: the environment, transport infrastructure and access to higher education.

Water, air and land are all affected by pollution, whether it is caused by human waste or chemicals in the emissions and effluent from factories and vehicles. Over-watering because of extensive irrigation and the use of chemical fertilisers on farms is also degrading our land. Overcrowding and poor design of internal and public space leads to significant levels of noise pollution. Everyone wants cleaner water and air, and we certainly need quality land and soil to grow the food wo need.

As cities grow and become more crowded so we need to travel further to work and then home again. Quality and standards are being raised all the time, with faster and safer freeways and transport systems, and more comfortable travel with airconditioning and soltnr sealing.

Education and training is becoming more critically important, it is expected that increasing numbers of highly educated and trained recruits will be needed in the workforce. Companies ar e looking to employ applicants with postgraduate qualifications, so no longer are: undergraduate degrees sufficient.

The cost of providing and maintaining healthy environments, li ansporl and extended education is enormous. The government is now imposing a levy on people who use our natural resources, fining factories which pollute rivers and the atmosphere, and raising Iranspor t fares. Education is also becoming more expensive.