Countries around the world will be facing significant challenges relating not only to the environment, but population and education as well.

What problems will your country face in the next ten years?

How can these problems be overcome?

Modern times are jeopardizing the world with numerous existential threats. Problems like climate emergency, food deficit, lower minimal wages, and overpopulation can cause real damage to the developing countries in the coming decade. Public awareness, better management practices and equal division of resources can make the difference.

Being an underdeveloped country, with less stable economic condition Pakistan is on the verge of various environmental, social and cultural threats. In the next few years two main challenges for the country are; food crisis, and declining literacy rate. Increasing global temperature is a serious danger to regional food crops. The average crop yield is decreasing at a faster rate. This would ultimately reduce food availability. Secondly, the lacking interest of parents in educating children is lowering the literacy rate. The reasons are lower salaries and expensive education. According to the latest survey, the literacy rate has declined to 42% in 2019 from 48% in 2014.

In order to overcome these problems, there are few solutions suggested by the policymakers and analysts. Firstly, better farming practices through modern equipment can increase crop yield. This involves well-managed use of fertilizers and pesticides. However, Countrymen should be aware of the climate crisis and trained to make farming environmentally sustainable. Secondly, the State should introduce free basic education policy by building more public institutes. This will not only raise the literacy rate, but also impact positively on the overall social development of new generations.

In conclusion, in the upcoming decade, food emergency and poor literacy rates can cause damage to countries like Pakistan. Whereas, nations can tackle these problems by efficient farming strategies and by introducing free elementary education policy.