In countries where unemployment is high, education should only be obligatory up to primary school and not secondary school. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

Employment and education were two factors which usually go hand in hand, however in the contemporary world due to various technology changes academic and job opportunities have become indirectly proportional. There are also discussions about ceasing the mandate on secondary education in some countries which has low percentage jobs. I disagree with the thought of restricting the higher education and also/[at the same time i] believe that the standard and curriculum in schooling has to be tweaked in such a way that it brings more occupation probabilities.

To being with, on a lighter note, if the host country does not produce/provide sufficient/adequate job opportunities for the educated, there are always chances of getting a/an employment offer from any part of the globe, hence education plays a major role in an individual's career and it cannot be halted at primary school level. For instance, in countries like India, though there are lakhs of engineers graduating every year, most of them get job placement/s either within the country or outside the boundaries.

Secondly, the course of study should be modified in such way that education has a wider reach rather than concentrating only on academics. Children should be given variety of options like sports, culturals so that they have diversity in choosing their career. This avoids job crunches as people get scattered to various sectors for their employment. For instance, though Jamaica is a economically weak nation , it was able to produce a world famous athelete only because, their school syllabus embraced and supported sports to the full extent.

To conclude, I strongly believe that education is the primary need for an individual. However, nowadays increase in unemployment has become a threat for many students to pursue their education, this has to be stopped. Additionally, on the other hand education should also be improved in such a way that it creates more employment by diversifying its range.