cultures and traditions change from generation to generation. Why does this happen? What can be done to change it.

It is commonly believed that cultures and beliefs have been changing with every generation. However, a numbers of reasons can be attributes to this continuous evolution. Some of them include change in lifestyle and career oriented mindset of recent generations. This trend can be tackle by appropriate measures from the authority and schools.

To begin with, the main reason behind this trend is that people these days do not want to live in joint families with elder people rather than getting converted into nuclear families. In other word, grandparents are the one who can inculcate the right beliefs and customs to their grandchildren because the current generation might not know the importance of family values are all about. Therefore, children do not get opportunity to learn about old traditions and cultures from their grandparents. For instance, the young generation these days rarely find time to visit their grandparents and neighbors at festivals. They totally depend on phone to convey the wishes rather than personally paying a visit. Furthermore, as families become nuclear and parents focus more on their career they have very little time to transfer their cultures and traditions to their children. Children learn from the actions of their parents and hence end up acting in the same way with their children as their parents did with them.

To address the situation, people should be made aware of the benefits of staying in a joint family. This can be achieved through NGOs and government agencies staging various seminars and road shows to highlight the advantages. Government should introduce new tax reliefs from people who prefer to stay in a joint family. Besides this, schools should focus on activities around cultures and traditions that require greater involvement from parents. This force parents to contribute to the task and eventually end up passing down their customs and traditions. To illustrate this, the majority of schools in India organized various festivals on tradition themes such as Kite festival and Holi celebrations with their parents.

To conclude, to ensure safe passage of passing cultures and traditions from generation to generation, the government and schools can play an active role in spreading awareness about the positives of staying in a joint family and facilitate conversation between parents and children through various activities.