Cycling is more environmental friendly than any other form of transportation. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity ?

More and more people are commuting by using different forms of transport such as car, metro, bicycle, boat etc. It is believed that medium which produces low or no co2 and do not produce any heat are environmentally safe. Therefore, Cycling is considered more environmental friendly than other transport forms. However, it is not being used and popular in many places. I shall explain the reason for this and measures to increase its popularity.

Everyone is aware that cycling is good for many reasons but still not adopted in cities or towns. There are various reasons of it. Firstly, people’s attitude toward cycling is not appropriate and bicycle riders are looked down in society. Many rich people use the expensive cars for commuting and this has become a status symbol in society, consequently, bicycle users are by default considered poor or having less status symbol. Secondly, absence of proper infrastructure required for cycling, deter people to ride cycle. It can be easily seen that most of the cities or town do not have proper cycling track, especially in developing or underdeveloped countries, there is only road which is majorly used by automobiles. As result, cycling is not only difficult but also not safe at all. For instance, India’s national cycling team coach was killed by speeding truck in day hours.

In order to increase the cycle use, different measures can be taken. To being with, major road in cities or town should have separate bicycle lane and traffic rules should be formed in such a way that allow only bicycle riders to use it. Moreover, at major junction or city Centre, cycle stand should be facilitated so that people can easily park their cycle safely and four wheeler parking may be shifted to further distance from city Centre to avoid congestion.

To conclude, despite the environment friendly, cycling is rarely used in cities or town worldwide. Government should improve the cycling infrastructure and traffic laws so that people could ride safely which in turn will help to protect the environment.