In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problem will this cause of individuals and societies? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of the ageing population?

In recent decades, living conditions are getting better. This leads to the fact that the expectation of life in prosperous nations is on the rise. Despite the detrimental drawbacks of this phenomenon, governments can take steps to cope with these potential issues.

There is a large variety of consequences that stem from longer life expectancy. To begin with, the major problem is the lack of labor force which the key contributing factor behind hindering the development of a country. This can be illustrated by Canada, a nation belongs to North America, in which the number of old people accounts for about one fourth in total of population, that is the source why there are millions of people from around the world immigrating in this country on a yearly basis in order to add in the workforce. Not to mention that the significant climb on the proportion of aged citizens will include putting a heavy burden on the national budget, which means the more quantity of elderly population increase the more retired people claim pension benefits. Therefore, the pressure on working adults who are making a contribution to governments through tax revenue is also on the escalation.

When it comes to feasible solutions to deal with the trend described above, the first one that should be given by authorities is enacting suitable policies to encourage immigration to supplement the number of working adults. This not only helps states to obtain a great amount of money from the tax system but also creates a competitive labor market in which businesses have more chances to choose qualified human resources. The further measure would be to increase the retirement age to grow tax revenue from this age-group and reduce simultaneously several senior residents. It results in the heavy burden on the national budget would be split, thus authorities can the amount of redundant finance from the pension fund to allocate for other urgent services such as education, infrastructure, and environmental protection.

In conclusion, various measures can be taken to handle the problems that are convinced to arise as average life expectancy is rising.