Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

The governments generally have limited fundings and yet a lot of issues to deal with. So, to be effective, they should prioritize the issues which are most vital for them and for the residents of their country. Some think that the government should invest more money in arts, and some other belive that funding Olympic teams should be in priority. I also agree with the second group due to a number of reasons which I am going to discuss.

First, Olympic is the most important sporting event in the world, with thousands of participants from all countries and billions of viewers from all over the world. Good performance of the athletes in these games would attract the attention of people to the country. Also, some international sponsors could be attracted so that they would start investing in the teams.These sponsors provide money and more money means having access to better facilities and better coaches which, can guarantee future success as well. Also, there is a chance that some of the athletes could be transferred into a well-known club and become an international star and an iconic representation of the country.

Secondly, the member of these successful teams could become role models for the people, especially the young generation, provide them an enthusiasm to start playing sports. This can lead the society to be healthier and happier, in a long run.

Thirdly, these sporting events can be a reason for people to gather together to watch the games together, whether in a park or a bar or in each others house. For example,for the tennis finals of the games, hunderds of people in my city gathered together to watch the match in the central park. This can bring people joy even if it is just for a few days.

All in all, I think that investing on Olympic teams would be a more effective investment for the governments since success in these popular games can attract attention, provide joy and healthiness to people.