Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One can learn about another person from the books and movies that the person likes.

As is well known, mass media and television have come to be two main parts of every society. Many people have certainly been influenced by the kinds of films they watch, and so the kinds of books they read. Personally, I believe that by studying one's favorite books and films one can research another person. For two reasons, I feel this way, that I will clarify in the following paragraphs.

First of all, since people get used to sharing their thoughts on a subject they've read or watched before, they usually ask each other's opinions and also elaborately share their own ideas. This is why I suppose one can readily learn about the lifestyle of another person, particularly one's belief and thinking style. My colleagues and I working in the same English school, for example, have known each other mainly through the kind of genre that another colleague is interested in. The boss seems to be very interested in the comedy genre, so interesting to know that she also has a good sense of humor, making us laugh at the office.

Second, people usually spend a great deal of their free time reading and watching movies. It is interesting to know that people usually prefer reading or watching a film that is in direct relation to their own way of life. While reading through that genre, they typically conjure up memories that they've had before.

On the other hand, there are some people who usually spend their time watching or reading about what they don’t have in their own lives. For this reason, some may think that people are extremely complicated for this purpose, and so getting to know another person through the kind of film one watches or reads is a very difficult job/task. I think there is no better example than my sister; although she is obviously interested in watching and studying about romantic stuff, she is very tough and not romantic. It is clear that she would rather follow her shortcomings by watching and reading different genres.

In conclusion, although it would be somewhat difficult to know someone, I believe the best way to learn about a person is to go through the type of genre that person follows. This is because people usually talk about what they have read or watched, and they usually enjoy finding themselves within another person’s character by reading a book or watching a film.