Do you think it is better for students to work before their university study? Why?

Over the past decades, there has been general debate over the education. Many believe that students should go straight to the university after high school graduation. On the contrary, some think that taking a gap year to work is more beneficial in which I completely agree with.

The first reason is that pupils have a better chance to discover the field of interest. Some select the course that first seems interesting with hope that they will take up a career of their field of study once completed. Unfortunately, this is not always the case for some as they might realize the half way through that the selected major is what they do not want to pursue in the future. And this could be due to the difficulty in seeking employment or low salary. As a result, all the hard work and time spent are in vain. For this reason, working at least a year before continuing the tertiary education is advisable. As they are exposed to the work and gain the first-hand experience, they can consider whether they would like to enhance the skills by enrolling into the course related to the work or not.

Another reason is that some useful skills such as interpersonal and people skills, team work, and many more can be early obtained. These skills are highly important for both personal and professional life in the near future as they enter the corporate world, and sooner or later, they would have to learn them. Therefore, having such skills beforehand could help increase the students’ competitiveness as well as better chances of obtaining employment and higher salary.

In summary, early exposure to the work that interests the students has the potential benefit, which can save time spent on courses that they might later not like, while the aforementioned skills can early be learned. As a consequence, taking a gap year is highly recommended.