Do you think that technological advancement has brought more harm than good? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

The twentieth century witnessed a major breakthrough in the field of science and technology. This made our lives more comfortable than ever before. Some would argue that there are many positive aspects of this trend and the rest would argue that this advanced technology is causing more damage than actually helping us. I believe that there is no denial about the latter view.

On the one hand, rapid technological development has enabled us to communicate faster and to carry out our day-to-day tasks in a smarter way. People from all walks of life are benefited from the recent inventions namely smart phones, laptops and other electronic gadgets. Furthermore, the internet revolutionized the way we access information online at the click of a button; however, this erased the boundaries between personal and public life and people’s privacy is compromised. For instance, it has been announced by Comcast that more than eighty percent of all devices that are connected online are being hacked and their private data stolen. Therefore, the technology could be used both for our development or destruction.

On the other side, there are numerous dangers with irrational usage of technology. It can be seen that people who are increasingly exposed to technology live in their virtual world and there is less social connect. It can often be seen that younger generation spending significant amount of their time browsing the internet and neglecting their academics. A recent study supports this view with their statistics that students are unable to concentrate while at school and score poor grades with the increase of their exposure to the latest technologies. As we can see, there are more problems than positive aspects of improvement in technology.

To summarize, we have numerous benefits with advanced technology but at the same time, it is doing us more damage than actually helping us.