Employers should focus on personal qualities over qualifications and experience when choosing someone for a job. To what extent do you agree with this?

To survive in competitive world employees should have multiple skills and it varies from educational qualifications, work experience to personal qualities. During job selections few employers give preference on individual qualities and few choose them based on their educational and experience backgrounds. In my view an employee should be judged based on his or her overall positives sides.

To start with, most of the employers strictly goes with job seeker's past work experience and academic or technical degrees because in their mind only a skilled person can play the vital role in organization success.

Such kind of approach is very calculated and meets commercial aspects of company because they know certain important roles and duties must be tackled by well versed and intelligent person.

On the other hand, many interviews, give preference on personal qualities over degrees or experiences.

Owners who have made by themselves and established mammoth businesses and empires know very well personal qualities such as honestly, hardship, pleasing nature and ownership values are very rare in human beings. These qualities can not be earned by so-called certificates in fact its comes through by accomplishing milestones on daily basis.

To sum up, both approaches have their own reasons and justifications and it can confuse which way to be followed. In my fair opinion, employees should be judged based on mixture of all criteria. For instance, if a doctor has a bundle of degrees and work experience in medical field but on other hand he lacks in good interpersonal skills, honesty and dedication, he will not justify his roles and responsibilities. Hence employer's should consider all above mentioned points while selecting an employee.