Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as their hobbies and interests and whether they are married or single Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful Others disagree Discuss both these view

Nowadays the employees are usually required to submitt their personal information with their applications. However, I don't contend it is necessary for the company to do so. In another word, these informations like hobbies and marital status are unrelated to their jobs in most of ocassions.

For one thing, with more specific details of the candidates, the employers may know their backgrounds more comprehensively, then they could make decisions of hiring more efficiently. The primary school for instance, the principle could judge whether the applicants for teaching positon really like children from the their hobbies like if they like little animals. Besides, these applicants could be more experinced if they already have their own children.

For another thing, whether you can judge a candidate is qualified with the job by their personal informations is still in question at many other fields. Since the features as hobbies could not represent the person's general working ability. Moreover, the company may be mislead by these redundant informations. A woman with two children for example, the employer may overlook her excellent working skills if they just question her concentraions with the job due to the concern that whether she have enough engery at work also as a mother. With these kinds of prejudice, these personal information could adverse to the company's recruitment.

Moreover, this kind of collecting personal infromation is invovled with privacy invasion. Most of the applicants may not feel uncomfortable with these blanks. But as for the minorities like homosexual group people, they may feel insulted by being asked these questions. In this case, tricky toubles will affect the compan's operations like lawsuit of discrimination. I belive this is one of most serious cases a company should take into deep consideration.

Whether inquire the employee their personal questions, it depends on the ocassions.However, most of the cases in my opinion., the employer should pay more attention to the professional imformation related with the job, instead of the daily life.