Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information,such as their hobbies and interests,and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The world is advancing and we can assume that we are passing the glorious time of world civilization. With the new invention people are establishing new companies which need more manpower to run smoothly. Each of the individual has their unique style. Thus, the employer need to know the maximum details of their employee. People has different opinions on sharing their personal information. I shall discuss both the aspects.

First of all, if we want to run a company smoothly,only hiring the skilled people is not going to help us to achieve the goal. A skilled person might have a frustrating personal life and that might effect his expertise on certain duty. I believe we must know a considerable amount of personal information which will help us to get the maximum output from the employee.

Secondly,upon knowing our subordinates' hobbies we might use it for company's benefit. For an example: I am a wild traveller. Travelling is my passion and my employer know about it. Therefore, they always have involved me in education excursion which gave me immense pleasure and at the same time I could work effectively for my company merrily.

Thirdly, if our employer have the personal information of their stuffs,that can help them to be empathetic in certain situations. For an instance: I lost my first child on the 6 months of pregnancy. That time I was doing office. My boss knows about it. During my second issue, it was again threatened pregnancy. Thus,my boss sanctioned my maternity leave for one year! I could return to my office with good health. Moreover, their kind gesture made me more devoted for my work place. So,sharing personal information is not bad always!

On the contrary,at times sharing information may lead us to the career failure. Perhaps our employer would manipulate us to work more or may take advantage of our helplessness by knowing our confidential information. Under no circumstances this is acceptable.

However, after pondering a lot of it's pros and cons, I think our recruiters should know our personal information up to a certain level. It'll help to work together as a better team.