Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Other disagree.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

During the occasions of job interviews ad submission of written resumes, employers sometimes inquire about the candidate’s personal information. Some people believe that obtaining private details of a candidate is pertinent and others believe that it is not required to know about the personal life of candidate. This essay will discuss both perspectives of inquiring personal information from job applicants and argue that knowing candidate’s private details to some extent is useful and beneficial for the employer as well as employees for a successful mutual relationship.

Asking personal details such as interests and hobbies may help to properly set the fresh candidates to the correct and relevant job profiles by the employers. When you are going to start - up a career, it is not your paper qualifications only matters. Other than your educational qualifications, your interests, your hobbies, your attitudes and desire to the selected career matter a lot.

There is a great saying that “You can enjoy your career, until you do not feel that you are working”. That means, you always need to choose a career which is interested to you. In a situation that you are a well qualifies applicant to the job. But you might have some personal difficulties with the locations of the company. If the company has several offices in different locations and if the employer knows about your personal difficulty, they might offer you the job in a location which is easier and suitable for you.

Apart from above points, candidate’s’ personal interests and behavior matter a lot when they have to work together as teams to achieve company goals. Candidate’s extra-curricular activities in school time can help a lot to work in a company as a team.

Sometimes, applicants might feel uncomfortable if they are asked about some personal information during interviews by the employers. Employers might ask about the marital status from a divorced woman or from a single lady who is around forty years of age. In this kind of scenario, the candidate might get hurt or upset from the employer’s questions even though she is a fully qualified and talented applicant for the position. In some cases, inquiring of personal information of candidates may lead to sexual harassments after he/she would be recruited. The proper involvement of professional human resource management is highly essential in these kinds of scenarios.

In conclusion it can be said that inquiring personal information from the candidates by the employer is required during the recruitment process. But these details should be obtained in a professional manner following to the ethics of human resource management. The personal information obtained by the employer from the employee can be used in a beneficial way to both parties and using this information wisely, helps to enhance the mutual employer – employee relationship.