Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

Information about employee is always necessary for the person who is offering jobs but which type of personal information will be given that is a matter of debate. Knowing favorite pastime or marital status is helpful to allot tasks while most of the time it is needless as most of the tasks are not dependent on these information. In my opinion, mentioning information is necessary which are directly relevant for the job.

Primarily, recruiters in their job advertisement mention some points that should mentioned in the job application. For example, education qualification, work experience, achievements etc. are important to asses a person and these data are necessary for a CV that will be dropped for particular job. Now a days, for the application, summary of candidates is asked where specific requirements are mentioned. All these systems are good as these help to save time.

On the other hand, some job advertisers do not like to give any format for their job application. When a candidate wants to apply for these job, they like to mention every information. For example, for the entry post of a job it is very natural that an applicant wants to give more information as they do not know which information is needed and which are not.

Furthermore, it is very clear that if the employers want, they can reduce the dilemma about information. But for some jobs, it is important to know about marital status. For example, in military service it is important to be single for long course military training. Besides, tours and travel companies are always asked for hobbies and interests, as they are directly related with jobs.

In conclusion, it is always essential for the employers to ask for relevant information from job applicants.