Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the vie

Nowadays it is very hard to get a job in this tough competitive market. People try their level best to get a good job as soon as they graduated out of the college. Earliar, employers only look in to the education qualifications of the job seeker to consider a person for a particular employment. But now the situation is entirely changed, recruiters are collecting more personal information of the candidates like their hobbies, interests and martial status.

To begin with, experts says that a persons character is completed affected by his surrounding situations or in other words his living conditions. In order to get a clear idea about a candidate, companies also following the same strategy, because at present it is very difficult to hire a person just by looking in to his academic records. Furthermore, job providers also able predict whether the person is going to accept their payment package by looking in to his personal datas like martial status. On top of that hirers can also use some hobbies or interests of the candidates to benefit the organisation. For instance, if a particular person has an interest in painting or creative art, such candidates are well fit to the jobs like designing and art work.

On the contrary, some people say that these kind of data collection regarding a job seeker is completely useless and irrelevant. They argue that, when recruiters hire an employee they only need to look in to the qualification and achievements of that particular person. In addition, when companies do these kind of information collection, they are actually violating a person's privacy. Everyone has the right to keep their personal details within them. On top of that, it is not all fair to compare or mix a candidates person and professional life when considering for employment.

In conclusion, we can not say that collecting people's personal information for employment neither a good practice nor a bad practice. It is actually different from each party's perspective. If we consider recruiters arguments we may think that they are right, but if we listen to the job seekers points we may favour time. In the end it is still actually a healthy debatable topic.