Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, many organizations across the globe inquire prospect employee's private information. They are keen to know what their pass time activities as well as their marital status. This essay is going to explain why it is important for these companies to gather such information but ultimately it boils down to the skill set of the person rather than his/her hobbies or interests.

Large conglomerates in India ask for personal details. From academic qualifications to things like national identification number, they will not leave a stone unturned, only because they are stringent about minute details like how many marks you secured in secondary education. Their policies are designed in such a manner which it mandatory for Human resource department to gather such details. Apart from polices, they also run several background checks on the prospect employee to make sure every detail provided by the person is correct and unquestionable. This is important for them because this is how they maintain a standard across their employees. For example, many large IT companies in India ask numerous details from an employee or prospect employee to make sure that the candidate has a clean background and in no way will be unsuitable for the company. To cut the long story short such organizations believe that the devil is in the details.

On the flip side, small to medium sized organizations are not interested in personal information at all. They are more inclined towards interviewing the candidate for long hours on various questions related to the skills, technologies and experience on which the candidate seeks employment. For them information like marital status or national id, hobbies etc are of less importance. They simply not interested to know how much you scored in your tertiary/secondary education. Such companies believe in one motto: hire for talent and skills. For example: Most of the Delhi/NCR's startups and medium sized companies have hired school dropouts. They have set a trend in the market which is benefiting them manifolds.

Eventually, if an organization believes in getting the work done then the knowledge and work experience matters the most in the longer run. Being hellbent about private details does not necessarily yield the right candidate for such employers.