Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

People are asked about their personal information like their favorite pastime, interest areas, and also about marital status while they apply for a job .Some argue on the relevancy and usefulness regarding the need to gather this information. In my opinion too its irrelevant exercise to be carried out . This essay highlight both the views points.

Every will organization has a different hiring process. Few organizations feels it is important to know the person before they hire more personally so they can take a wise decision about their fitment in the organization. For instance, if the organization needs enthusiastic and energetic people and on the other hand if the candidate is lame and boring it cannot be a right match for both . Another example if a person is newly married they are bound to ignore the travelling related work as they would like to spend time with their family. Knowing at the time of interview is better as the company saves themselves from investing time and money on an unsuitable candidate. Hence questions based on personal information is considered to be utmost important

On the contrary , there are exceptions where the company is most interested in knowing persons skill related to the particular job profile. These firms are concerned with the outcome of the work they perform and not on personal information. To be inform about the marriage and peculiar interest of a person may be hurtful to some extent. For example ; if a company wants to be fair with all the employees regarding their terms and condition , they will not judge on personal background rather compare it with their skills and outcome. Knowing about the personal details , management can be biased to a particular person . Hence it is ideal to keep aside the personal data.

I too believe personal information should not be crucial for a job. In conclusion, some organizations believe personal information is necessary to find a good fitment and few others disagree the fact that it may be a unbiased opinion.