Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that questions related to personal life are important in a job interview. I believe it helps provide a valuable insight of the person’s traits and behaviors.

In many companies, interviewees are frequently questioned about their hobbies. The hobbies provide an idea on the level of aliveness and personal characteristics. For instance, if a person plays football or cricket, they are considered to be more active and outgoing, while activities like cooking may be considered as creative and indoor kind of person. This helps interviewers of certain jobs decide, if they need an active person or a calm one.

However, some believe it is irrelevant as a person who cooks can be extrovert too. In addition, the queries pertaining to the marital status also seems to be somewhat irrelevant to the job post. For example, a teaching profession requires the teacher to work until noon and therefore, their marital status will have very little impact on the job done. Whereas in corporate jobs as employees may be required to do overtime the preference of a single person over married ones are visible. The married ones generally have a tendency to go earlier to spend some quality family time. On the contrary, single employees tend to focus more on their budding career and achieve a certain level of success before they settle down.

In conclusion, although the questions related to personal information appear to be irrelevant, they provide an idea of a person’s nature which assists the employers in selection of their candidate.