Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this may be relevant and useful. Others disagree,

discuss both views and your own opinion.

According to some job applicants, when applying for a job it is essential for the company to inquire about marital status, hobbies and areas of amusement of the candidates. I agree with this view, In my opinion, knowing more about the applicant could assist the employers to select the most suitable profile. Moreover, this additional information could also give the employees various opportunities at work.

Mentioning all the extra details related to one's personality definitely helps the employer to appoint best. If an applicant lists their marital status and hobbies, the company can match these points and can easily compare the shortlisted people on the basis of these extra details. For instance, an employer who is looking for someone for a frequent on-site traveling job will give more preference to a person whose area of interest is traveling and who is single. Also, employees with passions in sports and entertainment can participate in competitions, functions and all hand meetings.

On the other hand, some believe that it is not relevant to mention marital status and interests while applying. Their argument is that their unrelated hobbies might get them judged adversely by the panel. Moreover, studies have shown that a married person is often less flexible and leaves the job if asked to travel frequently. Thus people don't feel confident in mentioning their hobbies and marital status.

To conclude, a person should feel confident about sharing his or her passions and marital status because this would undoubtedly help them in their career as they progress. Consequently, not sharing these details with the employer might make their selection difficult as these extracurricular activities and skills provide a person an edge over the others who have applied with the same level of experience and qualifications.