Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree

There is an ever increasing need for suitable jobs. It is said that employers which recruiting personnel, ask for the personal information such as their likes, dislikes and marital status. Some people assert that this information can be useful and related to their jobs. While others find it useless. I totally agree with the former view. Let's discuss both the view points with suitable explanation.

It is obvious that hobbies and interests help anyone understand basic personality of a person. Moreover it becomes easier for an employer to scrutinize the right person for the right job. For example it is mostly found that people who are interested in sports have good team spirit, leadership and strategy building skills. Which in turn can help an employee to perform well in an organization. Similarly those who are single can employ more time in a company and has less responsibility. While married people have to look after the needs of their spouse and can't stretch himself for additional work.

However, many disagree and feel that this information could be misused and may result into bias behavior . Furthermore, employers may judge people on the basis of their hobbies and interests. For example employers may give first preference to those who are interested in cricket because ge personally admires it. Additionally he may have short sighted view that married people can't give company their time and efforts which could not be the actual case. Hence this may lead to arriving at wrong conclusion and selecting an inappropriate candidate.

In conclusion, although providing person information may sometimes mislead an employer and be judgemental. I still agree that this information greatly influence employer's choice in selecting right person at different levels.