Employers sometimes ask people appying for jobs for person information, such as hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single.

Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree

Discuss both these views and give your own opinions.

The recruitment process of a company can be quite rigid and time consuming. when a company interviews a candidate it is absolutely pivotal that Human Rescources team ask certain questions to the candidates. Some companies also have set of prerequisites or parameters during recruitment.

When a candidate sends it's curriculum vitae to the company. The hiring manager or the recruiter expects the CV should give a synopsis of the candidates academic, personal and work life. The company will hire a candidate who is worth the remuneration they offer to pay. Most importantly they look for a trustworthy and a person of integrity who will be with the company in the long run. A company will always prioritise someone who has aspirations of moving up the hierachy than a person who will abscond or leave the company in short notice. This will not only spike up the attrition rate of the company but also increase training cost. Asking these questions helps to understand the psychology, needs and work preferences of the interviewer. It will be frivolous to hire a person who has future plans to join his family business than a person from impoverised family considering he has same level of education and skills. Another example is a person who puts his hobby as photography wouldn't be a right mach for a telesales job. I wouldn't deny the fact, some of the information asked my employees can be decieving and irrelevant too. Companies asking for gross household income has no connection with candidates choice of work. In this case the interviewer should make a prudent decision in answering certain questions and not answering questions that may seem absurd.

Therefore companies should be meticulous in asking personal information and give a choice to candidate to skip questions if they think are not parallel to the job. To conclude, asking certain personal information definitely helps to get better insight of the candidate. Also any information taken should be at the consent of the interviewer or candidate and strickly confidential.