English is gaining more and more popularity due to various reasons and tourism is one of them. Many believe that this would only make English a single spoken language all over the world. In this essay, both the advantages and disadvantages of this development will be discussed.

One of the main advantages of English being the only language across the world would reduce the communication gap among people. For instance, each country has its language and one needs a translator while traveling to a foreign country. Moreover, it can play a vital role in bringing together which are now divided by various reasons because they will find something common between them. Lastly, every electronic device these days has a language installed in it for making it easier to use. To sell globally, companies have to preinstall language according to the region in which it has to be sold. And this will be much easier if there is a single language in the whole world. Hence, millions of dollars can be saved.

Culture and traditions are an integral part of a nation and English becoming the only language would destroy those. Take for example Punjabi people feel proud of their rich history but if their language becomes extinct their upcoming generations would never know about the heritage. Also, the researchers who carry out the study of centuries-old stuff would face an uphill task of translating old writings in the future. Take, for example, if Sanskrit becomes extinct, it will become hard to translate the writings which were written in Sanskrit.

In conclusion, there are merits and demerits of having a single language across the world but it would lead to the banishment of the rich heritage of countries.