Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Government should be responsible for public's basic medical treatment in order to ensure a healthy nation. However, due to financial limitations, latest technologies may not be available for all the cases. I strongly agree with the notion of public health care as it helps people of any financial background to live a healthy and worry free life.

Firstly, free health care lets public to have the privilege of visiting hospital whenever they are at health risk. As no delay related to financial hardship is accompanied, patient's diseases are usually identified and treated at the very primary stage. What is more, if anyone encounters with accident or critical illness; he would not have to compromise to admit for surgery because of poor economical condition. A recent study has shown that, residents of countries with government funded medical system lead 63% healthier life than the rest. Therefore, this public service should be mendatory to build a physically sound community nationwide.

Secondly, if medical care is not covered, then the general people will lead a stressful life. To be precise, the pressure of saving up for medical purpose will always haunt them and the fear of uncertainty will arise. The ever-increasing cost of medical appointments and medicines will become a burden; specially for the low income community of the country. Whereas, public funded medical system can offer a great relief and nobody will have to worry about the wellbeing of themselves and their family. An article from World Health Organization featured that people's mental health performs in far better condition when they are not worried about expenses related to health care.

Admittedly, some people would argue that free healthcare may cause rise in tax which is not fair for everyone. To elaborate, high taxation to ensure health care for everyone may not be welcomed by the whole population. Some of them might think about their instant benefit and can blame the nation for such initiative. However, if the increase in tax has been adjusted after well research on public's income and cost of living; then the people with this view will eventually understand when they can see the benefits in broader sense.

In conclusion, the basic medical care should be borne by the government bodies to build a physically and mentally sound nation.