Experts say older people were happier and healthier in the past because they did more exercise and spent more time with family and friends, whereas many now suffer from loneliness and health problems. What are the causes of this, and what are some solutions.

it is often argued by professional that in past time, old aged people were more living happily and healthy as compared to present times and now they are suffering from social isolation and many health problems. This essay shows that workaholic nature and generation gap are two leading causes of this phenomenon along with possible solutions.

The first and foremost reason of this trend is that these days, people have become workaholic and hardly have time for old ones. when the family members return to home after work then they are totally fatigued and have not enough energy. For example, as per the recent research 75% of individuals cannot give only 15 minute in day to old aged due to their busy schedule. The second vivid cause is the change in the eating patterns. In earlier time food used to be prepared and ate together by all family member where they shared their daily happening but now a days family member give preference to fast food restaurants which does not appeal to the eyes of senior citizens. For example, I used to share usually my dinner with my parents but my children occasionally take food with me

The first possible solution of this problem is that people need to make a balance between work and family life. For instance, small trips can be planned at the weekend with old ones so that they can remove their loneliness and do some activities outside which would be beneficial for their health. The second possible approach is that there should be awareness regarding the benefits of taking home made food instead of fast-food outlets with oldies. Kids should be allowed to take fast food only limited number of times by their parents because the habits that children develop in early age are difficult to change later in life. When the children turn to adulthood, they never like to take food with their parents and grandparents

In conclusion, changing eating patterns and work oriented nature are the main behind loneliness and health issued, faced by old people. These problems can be solved by spending some time with family such as planning small trip with them.