Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment.
What can governments do to address these problems? What can individual
people do?
Humans are responsible for a variety of environmental problems, but we can
also take steps to reduce the damage that we are causing to the planet. This
essay will discuss environmental problems and the measures that governments
and individuals can take to address these problems.
Two of the biggest threats to the environment are air pollution and waste.
Gas emissions from factories and exhaust fumes from vehicles lead to global
warming, which may have a devastating effect on the planet in the future. As
the human population increases, we are also producing ever greater quantities
of waste, which contaminates the earth and pollutes rivers and oceans.
Governments could certainly make more effort to reduce air pollution. They
could introduce laws to limit emissions from factories or to force companies
to use renewable energy from solar, wind or water power. They could also
impose ‘green taxes’ on drivers and airline companies. In this way, people
would be encouraged to use public transport and to take fewer flights abroad,
therefore reducing emissions.
Individuals should also take responsibility for the impact they have on the
environment. They can take public transport rather than driving, choose
products with less packaging, and recycle as much as possible. Most
supermarkets now provide reusable bags for shoppers as well as ‘banks’ for
recycling glass, plastic and paper in their car parks. By reusing and recycling, we
can help to reduce waste.
In conclusion, both national governments and individuals must play their part in
looking after the environment.