The exploration and development of safe alternatives to fossil fuels should be the most important global priority today. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

The major threat that the environment face in the current era is the global warming. As people are more reliant on non-renewable fuel sources for power generation and transportations, the carbon emissions in the atmosphere has soared. I certainly agree that finding a safe and green alternative must be prioritized and is of paramount importance.

To embark with, let us discuss about the adverse effects of fossil fuels on the environment. The extraction processes of these resources involve mining and fracking of rock beds, which have serious impacts on the ecosystem. In recent research by the Harvard University, it was found that such activities have higher chances of triggering earthquakes and other natural disasters. Apart from this, when these fossil fuels are burnt, the carbon emissions deposit in the atmosphere, and thereby increase the global warming. These gases also spoil the atmosphere and sometimes cause acid rain.

To preserve the nature, we need to discover green energy resources which are safe yet inexpensive. Although there are couple of alternatives to fossil fuels are available in the market, they are lesser efficient and costlier. The solar energy, for example, is a better renewable source of energy in the current market, but the capital investment required is so high that many are discouraged to depend on this resource. The wind farms are the next available alternatives, but they are less reliable as it requires specific wind speed to produce electricity. Thus, there is a huge demand for finding a better alternative which is highly efficient, cheap and does not harm the environment.

In conclusion, non-renewable resources do more harm to the nature and the existing renewable sources of energy are less efficient and costlier. Thus, governments and individuals must invest more in discovering an efficient yet cheaper alternative which does not affect the nature and the ecosystem.