Farmers within a country are often protected by tariffs – that is, special taxes on imported food. Such policies are necessary and should be implement whenever possible.

To what extend do you agree with this?

In modern society, many kind of agricultural products have been imported from other nations. Therefore, it creates an intense competition between domestic producers and foreign producers that governments have made rules to protect their own farmers. In my opinion, these policies rarely should be applied, only when they are a real inevitability.

To begin with, people can easily realize that they have to pay more money to have the same quality goods. Seeking for all over the world, importers can find out various products which are similar to domestic products, but they must pay taxes for the government to bring food from the outsides. So the price is a combination of own goods’ value and the tax. For instance, the government of Vietnam taxes a lot on imported cars. Consequently, they cost three times as much as their original prices. Of course, customers really feel uncomfortable with this result.

To have a view in long-term, tariffs can make national agriculture become weaker with every passing day. The purpose of tariffs is domestic agriculture protection, and the government uses them as a possible solution. However, it is just an immediate barrier, and not only it doesn`t enhance strength of national agriculture, but also it makes farmers neglect their duties. For example, farmers familiar with help of the government, they still can sell goods without quality concern. Gradually, they almost lose an effort to produce high quality products and give up their competition with foreign rivals.

To sum up, these special taxes are just short-term solutions, the governments should let economic move normally. Without tariffs, farmers must keep their effort to develop domestic agriculture.