With a fast pace of modern life more and more people are turning towards fast food for their main meals. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Fast developing economies are changing the way we live, especially the way we eat. More and more people opt for convenience and fast food has become the easiest choice. I believe that this has more drawbacks and benefits.

The main advantage of fast food is that it is relatively cheap and affordable as some world best-known fast food restaurants such as McDonald`s and KFC have created one-dollar menus and people can have a meal on a budget. Another reason why people choose ready meals is because of our fast-paced lives they have little time either to shop or to cook and fast food has come to their rescue.

However, it is common knowledge that convenience food is rich in carbohydrates, sugar, sodium and have very little or if any fiber. High levels of trans fat can be found in such food as well. Overconsumption of these substances can cause diabetes, cardiovascular diseases and problems with digestion. Another health problem that people may face is obesity as a lot of people underestimate their calorie intake. The recommended daily amount for an adult is around 2000 calories, while an average single meal with a soft drink delivers more than that. As a result, people who are regular at fast food restaurants can gain weight and become obese.

I would argue therefore that although there are advantages of fast food, they are outweighed by disadvantages. The main drawback is that reglar consumption may be harmful for the health of individuals.