Nowadays, film stars and celebrities tend to share their views on public matters that have little to do with their profession. This development has taken effect in this 21st century due to the rapid increase of technology in our world today. Social media has made a huge contribution to society by making it possible for a celebrity to share their views to their followers and make an impact with it.

First, I would say that it is a positive development for the human race. The world can effectively share a view through social media and we as a people can collectively decide on which actions to take when it matters. During the days of no technology, there were limits to how effective an individual’s opinion can be, but now it is a different ball game.

The social media has made the celebrities so powerful, because of the followers advantage they posses. Apps like Facebook, Twitter and Instagram have made it possible for them to air their opinions wether it concerns them or not and would still be heard. There has never been a time in history where you can share an opinion and get such huge real time feedback from people.

For example, the End SARS campaign that happened in Nigeria showed how social media can influence issues on ground. Tweets from celebs such as the likes of Wizkid, Davido, Psquare etc proved to be a force to reckon with. Our mobile phones once connected to the internet gives us access to every online information we need. Although, they are disadvantages to this but just a few. On one hand, technology has made it possible for under age kids with lack of parental care to access some sites that don’t suit their age bracket.

In conclusion, the development technology brought has made our world a better place. We look forward to more positive developments of this nature.