The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as 29 million vehicles on British roads.

Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technology has complemented engineering in the field of automobile and from wheel we have achieved 4 wheels. 1888 was the year to witness automobiles on the streets of UK and the number has reached 29 million by 2000. Substitute to these cars is cardinal and to manage the car purchase they must impose international acts. This essay will argue on the above said statement by presenting reasons and examples.

Transportation is pivotal to commute and move things from one place to another. I partially agree with the given statement that alternative forms of transport should be introduced to control cars purchase and international laws should be impose on the usage of cars. People would buy cars for comfort, status, harsh weather and safety reasons. Moreover, compelling them to follow laws would turn them into rebels. For example; a country like UK where the weather is extreme people cannot afford to use cycles or animals and public transport would not be sufficient to cater the size of population. Hence, it is evidently clear that ownership of cars is a mandate.

On the contrary, ownership of vehicles would harm the environment and would also create problems such as traffic congestion and cause devastating effects on public health. The best ways to control this is to manage the sales of cars and discard the old and vintage vehicles. Furthermore, introducing laws should be enforced by educating the people both residents and nonlocals. For instance; improving public transport and by applying high taxes on automobile purchase this goal can be achieved. Nevertheless, it seems possible to control the usage of cars by employing the above said approaches.

To conclude, cars are the primary source of transport and an alternative is the need of the hour to protect our mother nature by introducing laws.